Skip to content

⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.

Comparison · By · Updated 2026-09-09

Lighter vs Aster (2026): Zero Fees vs 0% Maker

These are the two venues most often chosen on cost alone, and they get there by different routes. Lighter, a zero-knowledge rollup on Ethereum, charges Standard accounts nothing to take or make. Aster, an order book on BNB Chain, charges makers nothing and takers a rate that depends on which of its two perp families you trade. The rest of the comparison is about what sits behind those two zeros.

Verdict

Lighter is cheaper for takers; Aster is not more expensive for makers. A maker-only strategy pays nothing on either. A taker pays nothing on Lighter's Standard tier and a published rate on Aster. Aster answers with a live $ASTER token and a points programme its docs tie to an airdrop; Lighter's LIT is live too, but its docs do not say what points become and its Season 2 status is unclear. Pick Lighter for taker cost, Aster for a documented points-to-token path, and read the fine print on both zeros.

At a glance

Lighter versus Aster, compared across key dimensions
Lighter Aster
Architecture zk-rollup on Ethereum BNB Chain · order book
Custody Non-custodial (rollup) Self-custody
KYC Not stated None
Base perp fees 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) / 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) t/m WINNER 0.04% (USDT-margined) / 0.005% (USD1-margined) / 0% t/m
Funding 1h period · P2P 8h default; per-symbol 1h/4h/8h via the API
Token LIT · live $ASTER · live (TGE claim window 17 Sep – 17 Oct 2025)
Points programme Unverified · Points Season 2 Active · Aster Convergence: Stage 6

facts verified · each venue's official docs Every cell restates a claim on one of this site's pages: /compare/hyperliquid-vs-lighter/ , /lighter/fees/ , /compare/hyperliquid-vs-aster/ , /aster/fees/ , /airdrops/ .

Fees

Lighter — Order-book; zero-fee Standard accounts, paid Premium tier for higher limits. Base tier: 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) taker, 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) maker. Numerics reflect Standard accounts (zero-fee); Premium trades 0.0040%/0.0280% with a LIT-staking discount grid. Discounts: LIT staking reduces Premium rates on a published grid. Standard’s trade-off is latency (300ms taker) and API rate limits, not hidden fees or position caps; LIT is live (staking discounts the Premium grid) and the points program remains a separate, conversion-undocumented track. Schedule verified 2026-07-31 on /lighter/fees/.

Aster — Order-book maker/taker; two perp contract families with different taker rates. Base tier: 0.04% (USDT-margined) / 0.005% (USD1-margined) taker, 0% maker. Taker numeric uses the USDT-margined family; USD1-margined trades at 0.005% — pick per family when calculating. Discounts: Referral rebate up to 10% (referrer-configured split, not guaranteed); ASTER-token fee payment discount exists as a separate lever. 0% maker means maker-heavy flow pays nothing — and generates no referral commission. Schedule verified 2026-07-31 on /aster/fees/.

Base-tier rates answer one narrow question — what a small taker order costs on day one. Your maker/taker mix, volume tier and holding period decide the real number; the fee comparison lays all twelve venues side by side and the execution-cost tool adds live slippage on top.

Markets they share

In this site's market join, snapshot 2026-09-02, Lighter lists 214 perp markets and Aster lists 538; 173 appear on both. The market index shows every asset with the venues that list it and each venue's published leverage, and the join is refreshed weekly by a fail-closed pipeline. Breadth is not depth: a listing says nothing about how much size a book absorbs, which the execution-cost tool measures live where a venue publishes its order book.

Token and points

Both rows are restated from the points & airdrop tracker, which is re-read against each venue's docs on a 45-day cadence and never prices a point.

Where Lighter wins

Taker cost, outright: Standard accounts pay 0% on both sides, and the trade-off is latency and rate limits rather than a hidden fee. Funding settles hourly and peer to peer. The rollup settles to Ethereum, which some traders prefer to a venue on a single chain's validator set. LIT is live and bought back from fee revenue, so the token side is no longer a promise.

Where Aster wins

Documentation of the points path: Aster's Stage 6 docs state that points accumulate toward an $ASTER airdrop share, and the tokenomics publish a 53.5% Airdrop category, even though Stage 6's own share and the conversion ratio are not stated. Aster also lists far more perp markets in this site's join, and its 0% maker rate applies without a tier or a latency trade-off. Its funding cadence is published per symbol through the API rather than fixed.

What this site could not verify

Which to pick

If you take liquidity and fees are the deciding line, Lighter's Standard tier is hard to argue with on the numbers, provided its latency profile suits you. If you make liquidity, the two are equal on fees and the choice turns on markets, chain and token. If you are trading for a points programme, Aster's is the one with a documented airdrop link; Lighter's should be treated as unverified until its docs agree with themselves. The Lighter review and Aster review carry the full mechanics and the verification dates behind every row above.

Related comparisons

FAQ

Is Lighter really cheaper than Aster?

For takers, yes: Lighter's Standard accounts pay 0% where Aster charges a published taker rate. For makers the two are level at 0%. Lighter's Premium tier, which exists for latency-sensitive flow, does charge fees; the fee section above quotes both grids.

Which one has the better airdrop?

Neither has a priced one. Aster's docs commit points to an $ASTER airdrop share without a ratio or an end date; Lighter's docs do not say what points redeem for. The tracker keeps both rows dated and never estimates a value.

Do they list the same markets?

Partly. The shared-market count above is computed from this site's weekly market join, and the market index shows which venue lists any given asset.

Open Lighter → (opens in a new tab)

affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you · methodology