⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.
Lighter vs dYdX (2026): Zero Fees vs Maker Rebates
Both venues run a central limit order book with hourly, peer-to-peer funding, so the mechanics feel alike from the trading screen. The economics do not. Lighter charges Standard accounts nothing. dYdX runs a governance-set schedule that starts at a published maker and taker rate and, at the top volume tier, turns the maker fee into a rebate. One is free for everyone; the other pays its largest makers.
Verdict
Free beats cheap for most accounts; a rebate beats free only at scale. A retail or mid-size trader pays nothing on Lighter and a real rate on dYdX. A maker doing enough volume to reach dYdX's top tier is paid to quote, which Lighter's 0% cannot match. dYdX is the more established chain with a live governance token and no points programme; Lighter's LIT is live and its points programme is running on paper but unverified in status. Choose by where your volume actually sits on dYdX's ladder.
At a glance
| Lighter | dYdX | |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture | zk-rollup on Ethereum | Cosmos app-chain · CLOB |
| Custody | Non-custodial (rollup) | Self-custody |
| KYC | Not stated | None |
| Base perp fees | 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) / 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) t/m WINNER | 0.05% / 0.01% t/m |
| Funding | 1h period · P2P | Hourly · P2P |
| Token | LIT · live | DYDX · live |
| Points programme | Unverified · Points Season 2 | None documented |
facts verified · each venue's official docs Every cell restates a claim on one of this site's pages: /compare/hyperliquid-vs-lighter/ , /lighter/fees/ , /compare/hyperliquid-vs-dydx/ , /dydx/fees/ , /airdrops/ .
Fees
Lighter — Order-book; zero-fee Standard accounts, paid Premium tier for higher limits. Base tier: 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) taker, 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) maker. Numerics reflect Standard accounts (zero-fee); Premium trades 0.0040%/0.0280% with a LIT-staking discount grid. Discounts: LIT staking reduces Premium rates on a published grid. Standard’s trade-off is latency (300ms taker) and API rate limits, not hidden fees or position caps; LIT is live (staking discounts the Premium grid) and the points program remains a separate, conversion-undocumented track. Schedule verified 2026-07-31 on /lighter/fees/.
dYdX — Order-book maker/taker; 30-day-volume tiers set by governance. Base tier: 0.05% taker, 0.01% maker. Discounts: Tiers drop taker to 0.025% and turn maker into a rebate (−0.011%) at top volume; referred accounts start at fee tier 3; staked (bonded) DYDX cuts fees up to 50% on a governance-voted grid. Schedule is governance-set — thresholds and rates can change by vote. Schedule verified 2026-07-30 on /dydx/fees/.
Base-tier rates answer one narrow question — what a small taker order costs on day one. Your maker/taker mix, volume tier and holding period decide the real number; the fee comparison lays all twelve venues side by side and the execution-cost tool adds live slippage on top.
Markets they share
In this site's market join, snapshot 2026-09-02, Lighter lists 214 perp markets and dYdX lists 99; 68 appear on both. The market index shows every asset with the venues that list it and each venue's published leverage, and the join is refreshed weekly by a fail-closed pipeline. Breadth is not depth: a listing says nothing about how much size a book absorbs, which the execution-cost tool measures live where a venue publishes its order book.
Token and points
- Lighter: LIT · live. Points: Unverified — Points Season 2; Retail track: 200,000 points/week, distributed Fridays for Wednesday – Tuesday activity. The docs do not state what points redeem for, and no points-to-LIT conversion is documented. LIT is live and bought back from fee revenue. The market-makers page says "Points Season 2 ended on December 26th 2025"; the retail page and the overview still describe weekly Season 2 distribution and have not been updated with an end date. The docs do not say whether the retail track continues, so the status stays unverified until they do.
- dYdX: DYDX · live. Points: None documented . Docs: the trading-rewards "C factor has been set to 0" and "since the C factor has been reduced to 0, traders now get rebates directly". No points or season programme is documented.
Both rows are restated from the points & airdrop tracker, which is re-read against each venue's docs on a 45-day cadence and never prices a point.
Where Lighter wins
Cost for everyone below dYdX's top tier: 0% taker and 0% maker on Standard accounts, with no volume ladder to climb. Settlement on Ethereum through a zk-rollup rather than a separate app-chain's validator set. A points programme that, whatever its status, exists; dYdX documents none, and its per-trade trading rewards have their multiplier set to zero by governance.
Where dYdX wins
Maker economics at scale: the tier ladder ends in a maker rebate, so the largest quoters are paid rather than merely uncharged. Referred accounts start at a higher fee tier, and staked DYDX cuts fees on a governance-voted grid. dYdX's schedule and access rules are published and reviewed on this site's dYdX fees page; Lighter's KYC and access rules are not stated in the docs verified here.
What this site could not verify
- Lighter: KYC and access rules are not stated in the docs this site verified.
- Lighter: Whether Points Season 2 is still running: the market-makers page says it ended on 2025-12-26, the retail page has not been updated.
- Lighter: What points redeem for — no points-to-LIT conversion is documented.
- dYdX: Fee thresholds and rates are governance-set and can change by vote; this site restates the schedule as of its verification date.
Which to pick
If you are not going to reach dYdX's upper tiers, Lighter is cheaper on every fill. If you are a high-volume maker, price the rebate against Lighter's zero and the latency of its Standard tier before deciding. If you want a venue with a published rulebook set by governance and a live token with staking utility, dYdX is the more documented of the two. The Lighter review and dYdX review hold the detail.
Related comparisons
- Lighter vs Aster
- Lighter vs edgeX
- Lighter vs Paradex
- Lighter vs Extended
- Lighter vs Pacifica
- Hyperliquid vs Lighter
- Hyperliquid vs dYdX
FAQ
Does dYdX have a points programme?
No. Its docs describe per-trade DYDX trading rewards whose multiplier governance has set to zero, with fee rebates paid directly instead. There is no season or points system to farm.
Is Lighter's zero fee the same as dYdX's rebate?
No. Zero means you pay nothing; a rebate means the venue pays you. dYdX's rebate applies only at the top of its volume ladder, so for most accounts Lighter's zero is the lower cost.
Which chain is safer?
They are different models rather than a ranking: Lighter inherits Ethereum's settlement through validity proofs, dYdX runs its own Cosmos app-chain with its own validator set. This site does not score one above the other.
affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you · methodology